Displaying 71 - 80 of 85

The new Equalities Act 2010 unifies several laws that protect people from discrimination and puts them all together in one piece of legislation. The act identifies protected characteristics as follows:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Most of the Equality Act provisions came into force on 1 October 2010 with some provisions expected in April 2011. There are some provisions of the act that the government is still considering. The provisions of the socio-economic duty and gender pay gay reporting, that were earlier in the act, will no longer be taken forward. This section will keep you updated on Equalities legislation and how it affects the voluntary and community sector within the region.


Subscribe to Equalities